Webtop Display Issues

I’m new to the whole Farcry CMS thing and was looking to test it for use by our NFP organisation. I have followed the instructions as per the doco for ver. 7 Installing onto MSSQL 2008, and IIS 7 with Coldfusion 10.

Install is successful and front end looks fine, but the webtop appears to be missing something, looks like the screenshot here

There might be a few things to check;

1. If you scroll to the bottom of the broken page, is there any kind of dump output that might contain an error message or a stack trace?

2. If you open the Web Inspector (in Chrome) or Firebug (in Firefox) by pressing F12, then go to the Net/Network tab and refresh the page, can you see any errors for any of the network requests? They’ll either be highlighted in red, or have non-200 status codes (e.g. 403, 403, 500).

3. What URL are you using to access the webtop? If you use /webtop (with a /webtop virtual directory mapped in IIS) then you will need to check your farcryConstructor.cfm file in your webroot and ensure that the following line of code matches the URL you are using:

<cfset THIS.webtopURL = "/webtop" />

Hope that helps :smile:

1 Like

Thanks Justin,

Had a check through those things;

1. No stack trace or error
  2. Web Inspector Network tab shows no error codes, although did notice on the style editor tab that only cfdump css styles are there (perhaps the css isn’t even loading in?)
  3. URL to webtop is set correctly.

Cheers,
Kernal

Looks like you might be missing all the style sheets and javascript. They get combined and minified into a cache here by default:
./projects/yourproject/www/cache

Do you see anything in this folder?

Your Adobe ColdFusion (ACF) server will need write permissions on this folder (and the ./www/images and ./www/files folders for that matter).

It should look something like:

Thanks Modius,
sorry for the delay in getting back to you. I scrubbed my initial install to make sure I have done everything right.