Property names containing aA will make saving of the type to fail

As the topic title say - if you use a propertyname containing a lowercase a followed by an uppercased A, any editing of data on a type will fail.

You can create an instance of the type, and the initial property values will be saved. But trying to edit the instance and any changes you make to any of the instances properties will not be saved. No error is displayed though.

Here is the property that triggered the error:

<cfproperty ftSeq="1503" ftWizardStep="Call to action" ftFieldset="Call to action"
			name="ctaAction" type="string" required="true" default=""
			ftlabel="Handling" />

When starting to understand that this was the property that created the problem we first thought it was the word Action as part of the name that caused the problems.

But after testing a lot of variations of the name, the conclusion is that a lowercase a followed by an uppercased A is what creates the problem.

I am not an expert, but I can’t see aA being an issue in property names. I would imagine it’s a coincidence and there’s something else afoot here.

Are you able to share more of the type in question? Is possible, could you also share some details about your setup like FarCry version, database type and version, ACF or Lucee and corresponding version?

My initial guess would be that the issue is related to array properties.

Possibly some code that is looking at the property name and not its type.

Chris.

We did some pretty heavy debugging and testing. Isolated the issue to this one property - also with other names with the same letter combination. Same result. Changing the name to something else - even just changing the lowercase a to an uppercase A would resolve the problem.

FarCry version 7.2.4 - Windows server with IIS and CF 11 - MSSQL server 2012

Our guess was in the same direction, but we were not able to find where in the core code the problem could be located.