I think logging would definitely help, since FC Webtop users can view the approval histor. I think now knowing how bSyncStatus is applied, it's easy to just set it to "false". Is it "false" by default?
I just ran into a case on a different site where items were getting "ghost" approved. For example, a Case Study was assigned to a Staff Bio. At the time the Case Study had an "approved" status. The Staff Bio was approved but then at a later date the Case Study, was un-published/set to "draft" status, but still assigned to the Staff Bio. At an even later date, a webtop user makes a change to the Staff Bio, approves it. Upon approval, the Case Study gets "ghost" approved.
In this scenario, would it be possible to stop the related draft item from getting inadvertently re-approved? Anyhow, setting bSyncStatus to "false" is fine.